Technical corrections(?) Regarding Using the same Lair Action Twice in a Row, etc.
- So are bosses not technically allowed to do the same Lair Action (or even Legendary) back to back? I think I ran across it once or twice, just saw it again here: reddit and am wondering if ppl stick to that rule or what.
- MY CONCLUSION - Strahd can do whatever regarding Lair Actions. But some bosses like the Mummy Lord need to change Lair Actions up every other round (or more precisely, can't do the same one two times in a row)... it's all in their statblock in the MM book.
- My research below
- A vote for YES stick to no back to back same lair action.
YEP?rpgcitadel - Not sure it would have made the fight better... I would have had to tack on 100 HP or played even more deviously... so probably better that I did it how I did it. But, I dunno, if we did it all over again I might want to try running Strahd with altering lair actions, though that would be hard
more legal. I really did want to summon a specter and Shadow, but it just never worked out (I waited too long, he should have done that on earlier maps before the catacombs, oops). I did at least use shut doors a few times, effectively. - A vote for NO, do whatever you want for STRAHD only b/c it is in their Monster Statblock text regarding Lair Actions -
NO(?), Strahd is special, can use same lair action over and over apparently. Most monsters say in Monster Manual that they cannot use lair actions twice. So most ppl figure Strahd is the exception (reddit) to the rule since it doesn't say it anywhere in his statblock in the 5e book for CoS. - UPDATE: I see nothing about Lair Actions twice only in the MonsterManual2014. Can't find "lair action" in DungeonMastersGuide. So... ???
- In Monster Manual 2014, I just see on Page 11 -
- "LAIR ACTIONS
- If a legendary creature has lair actions, it can use them
- to harness the ambient magic in its lair. On initiative
- count 20 (losing all initiative ties), the creature can
- use one of its lair action options, or forgo using any of
- them that round."
- Example, Mummy Lord in MonsterManual2014
- LAIR ACTIONS
- On initiative count 20 (losing initiative ties), the mummy
- lord takes a lair action to cause one of the following
- effects; the mummy lord can't use the same effect two
- rounds in a row.
- A vote for YES, thinking it is universal (despite only showing up in statblock for some monsters). https://www.dungeonsolvers.com/legendary-actions-and-lair-actions/
- A vote for NO, do whatever you want for Strahd, b/c need to check actual statblock. https://www.reddit.com/r/CurseofStrahd/comments/11uhgs1/if_the_party_fights_strahd_in_ravenloft_how_can/
No comments:
Post a Comment